BBQ Chicken Pizza (Spring Break Edition)

BBQ Chicken Pizza | Jersey Up!

We had to make two. Don’t judge us.

My brother and his girlfriend came to visit for their spring break. Michigan is not exactly a springy destination when you want to escape the snow…ahem…but we were excited to host them nonetheless! Because it was their spring break, my husband made us do a different shot every night. Some of them were normal (ie tequila) and others were strange like mind erasers. I haven’t even HEARD the words mind eraser in probably 10 years. Maybe I shouldn’t admit I’m that uncool…

Anyway, their visit was a perfect excuse to try some new recipes. Particularly junk food/snacks. Before I give you the recipe for this pizza, I must admit to you that I’m a pizza purist. What does that mean? Plain. For you non-Jersey folks, that’s sauce and cheese and crust. The end. No crazy toppings. Ick. And pizza WITHOUT tomato sauce?! You’re kidding right? At least it has cheese.

Dare I admit that this pizza was GOOD. So good in fact we decide to make a second pizza….

BBQ Chicken Pizza
Adapted from Marshalls Abroad
Her pictures are so much better, so use those to entice you to make this recipe!

Ingredients:
1 lb pizza dough (if you aren’t making homemade I definitely recommend frozen)
2 chicken breasts, pre-cooked and shredded or diced
1/4 red onion, diced
2 cups shredded mozzarella
1/2 cup of your favorite BBQ sauce (dare I say I use what’s on sale?)
4 cloves garlic, minced
Olive oil
Fresh cilantro for garnish
Directions:
1. If you are using a pizza stone, preheat your oven or grill (don’t you grill pizza, too?) with the stone inside to 500˚.
2. Toss your chicken with BBQ sauce and set aside. (I recommend marinating it for awhile beforehand in the fridge but it’s not necessary.)
3. Roll out your dough on a well floured surface into the shape and thickness you prefer (or to what your skills allow).
4. Sprinkle some cornmeal on your heated pizza stone (good pizza secret!) and lay out your dough.
5. Drizzle dough with olive oil. Top with chicken, cheese, garlic, onions and extra BBQ sauce.
6. Bake in the oven or on your grill for 10-15 minutes or until the crust is golden brown.
7. Wait a few minutes (if you can!) for the pizza to cool before cutting it to avoid losing all your cheese and dose up some cilantro.

If you’re doing monthly meals, you can make the chicken ahead of time and have the rest of your ingredients chopped and ready to go to thaw in the freezer. A lot of times I will cook several pounds of chicken breasts at once, shred or dice, and freeze in batches to use in other recipes. Or if I have a plan for the chicken already, I can add it to a bag of veggies and sauce, or some lunch tacos, or whatever. Chicken, as I’m sure you know, is very versatile. We use it all the time.

Let me know what you think!

