Raspberry & Chocolate Chip Muffins

Raspberry Chocolate Chip Muffin | Jersey Up!

Before our daughter was born, we called her “muffin”.  I’m not sure where the nickname came from; perhaps from the growing muffin top I had going on?  It really caught on and everyone called her that.  People at work would ask how muffin was doing, and family addressed cards and books to “muffin”.  But ever since she was born, we have barely used it at all calling her other new nicknames and her actual name (gee, isn’t that weird?).

In her honor, I’m sharing this amazing muffin recipe.  We eat these all. the. time.  Normally I make a huge batch and freeze them.  Pull one out and pop it in the micro for a minute or so and you have a yummy breakfast.  I mean, there is yogurt.

Raspberry & Chocolate Chip Muffins
Adapted from Once a Month Mom

Makes one dozen muffins.

1 cup flour  *up to an additional cup*
1.5 tablespoons baking powder
3/4 cup sugar
7 ounces unsalted melted butter (yes, you read that right)
3/4 cup plain yogurt
1/2 cup water
2 medium eggs
1/2 cup chocolate chips
1/2 cup raspberries (raw or frozen are both fine)
2 tablespoons raw sugar (for sprinkling on top if you’re feeling extra dangerous)

1. Combine all dry ingredients in a large mixing bowl.  Make a crater in the center.
2. Pour melted butter, yogurt, water and eggs into the crater and mix well.
3. Fold in chocolate chips and raspberries.
4. Spoon into muffin tin (sprinkle raw sugar on top if you like) and bake at 375˚ for 30 minutes.

Now, I have done some experimenting with this recipe.  I have been known to, on occasion, add more chocolate chips than the recipe calls for.  (And less raspberries…but don’t tell my husband that part.)  You can also keep the basic muffin part the same and add different fruit (strawberries, peaches, blueberries) or chips (butterscotch, white chocolate).  Sometimes its nice to have a versatile recipe so you can use whatever is in season or at your local farmers market.  You don’t always have to follow recipes verbatim (in fact, I never do…and I’m an amateur!).  Feel free to experiment, even if its just with small supplemental ingredients to make the recipe work for your family.

Now, for the real reason I had to experiment with the recipe…(you didn’t know that was code for “I had problems”?).

I also had a bitch of a time with the consistency of the batter.  The first time I made it, it made THREE dozen.  Um, it’s supposed to make one.  (I still have no idea how that happened.)  They also sank the first few times I made them.  I learned to trust myself, that these weren’t rising cupcakes, and that I should fill the pan completely full before baking.  I repeated to myself that they wouldn’t overflow each time I checked them as they were baking.  (Yes, I do talk to myself while cooking.)

The original batter I made was also extremely thin and greasy.  Butter pooled in the bottom of my muffin tin and I had to clean it before I used it again for another batch.  (Oh, are you supposed to do that anyway?!)  I have to say that a lot of butter makes the muffins really tasty.  But it was a little much, even for me.  Like, who wants stained pants before work??  Readers of the original post complained of the same issues but the author had none, and the readers never wrote back with their solutions (doesn’t that always happen?).  So, I just dumped in more flour until I thought it was the right consistency.  I didn’t measure – just eyeballed it.  I’d guess it was an additional cup though.  The most recent batch with the extra flour came out much better.  They didn’t sink and weren’t as greasy (though you’ll still want a napkin).

The most I made at one time was 4 dozen and they came out just fine.  They’re in the freezer now (and some given to some friends during a muffin exchange – do it, they’re fun) and I’m looking forward to eating them for breakfast all month!

One thought on “Raspberry & Chocolate Chip Muffins

  1. Pingback: Sausage, Potato & Pepper Packet (Say it 10 times fast!) | Jersey Up!

Let me know what you think!

