Sausage, Potato & Pepper Packet (Say it 10 times fast!)

So, my husband and I got into an argument yesterday.  Over meaningless things.  Which is how it always starts right?  I am, against my better judgment, going to share a snippet of our conversation.

Scene begins as my husband goes into freezer to eat delicious chocolate chip raspberry muffin for dessert.  (Side note: We have other more breakfasty and less desserty muffins in the fridge.  In my own mind, freezer stuff is for LATER.  I am also personally offended by the fact that he eats breakfast muffins for dessert.  After dinner.  When it’s dark.)

Me (apparently witchy): You are not supposed to eat those muffins yet.  Eat the ones in the fridge first.
Husband: The ones in the fridge are not desserty.  And you aren’t my mother.

Oh, no he didn’t!

I continue to rant about muffins, the freezer, salad dressing, menus, schedules, and sauteed mushrooms.  Apparently, throwing my water bottle at him escalated things.  Minor detail.  Anyway, the water bottle bounced off the couch (luckily, instead of his head) and landed in the kitchen.  I understand you probably don’t know the layout of my house, but take my word for it that it’s aerodynamically improbable.  The laughter that ensued did wonders for my overall attitude, but not so much for the victory I was planning.  People, the secret to marriage is putting your pride on the shelf.

Sausage Potato and Pepper Packets | Jersey Up!

I meant to take a cool photo on the grill, but flames are scary!

Now that it’s basically (though not officially) summer, we are doing a bunch of grilling this month.  I grocery shop, plan and prepare meals monthly to save our family money since we are on a single salary kinda budget.  Summer is my favorite time of year so far for the monthly meal planning.  It’s so easy!  Marinated chicken breasts, burgers and dogs, and these versatile packets.  It can be a fun tongue twister, too!

Sausage, Potato & Pepper Packet

Ingredients:
1 lb. smoked turkey sausage
3 bell peppers (whatever colors you like)
1 onion (white or red will do just fine)
4 medium potatoes
1/2 tsp Lawrys
1/4 tsp cayenne pepper (adjust to your preferred level of spiciness)
1/2 tsp garlic salt
Salt and pepper to taste

Directions:
1. Chop up sausage, veggies, and potatoes.  (Aren’t potatoes veggies?)
2. Sprinkle seasonings on top.
3. Fold up ingredients in a foil packet.
4. Place on your grill and heat for about 30 minutes.  You’ll hear everything sizzling.
Tip: Use oven mitts to transfer the tinfoil packet onto a tray or cookie sheet before serving or bringing inside.

This is perfect for camping.  You can of course vary the seasonings and veggies to whatever you like – really anything would work perfect.  You could also make several while you’re already chopping and freeze the packets to use later.  If you’re afraid of your gas grill like I am, you could also dump everything into the crockpot, or bake it in the oven.  Options are endless!

Let me know what you think!

