English Muffin Bread

English muffins are expensive, guys. I’m fed up with the wheat toast alternative. Not sure what it is about the muffins, but they’re so much better than bread/toast. It’s either the nooks and crannies that soak up the butter or it’s the cute old guy on the commercial. Either way, I’ve been really missing these since we’ve really cut back our grocery budget.

Ahem. Why do without when I could be making them myself? I really might be going too far with this homemade bread thing now. My husband is undoubtedly doing a secret happy dance as I admit, publicly, that he was right. But just about this one thing.

So, this amazing recipe from Jillee makes 4 loaves of deliciousness in about 2 hours. (No, you don’t need glasses.) She also has a ton of other sweet stuff on her site including a tutorial on how to clean your gas stove grates that I really need to try soon.

Image

English Muffin Bread
Adapted from One Good Thing

11 cups flour
5.5 cups warm water
3 tbsp sugar
2 tbsp salt
3 packets rapid rise yeast (you can use regular, but you’ll need to let it rise twice)
A little butter for brushing

1. Mix all ingredients either by hand or mixer, being careful not to over mix. Everything fits in my stand mixer juuuuuust barely. So be careful. Dough will be very sticky.
2. Divide dough into 4 well-greased loaf pans.
3. Preheat oven to 350˚ and allow dough to rise until it reaches the top of the loaf pans. For me, it took about an hour. I also leave my dough rising on top of the oven because the heat helps it rise more quickly. The temperature, humidity, altitude and day of the week change how long it takes for dough to rise, so don’t be worried if yours takes longer.
4. Slide those babies into the oven and bake for about 30 minutes.
5. Brush butter on top of the loaves and bake an additional 10 minutes until golden brown.
6. Allow to cool before cutting or freezing.

Now of course this is meant for breakfast, but that’s just getting too technical. I can already tell you it’s also exceptionally good sandwich bread. I probably should not admit that I had this for breakfast, lunch and dinner today. Don’t judge me.

12 thoughts on “English Muffin Bread

    • You could easily halve the recipe! I only have two loaf pans, and thought about doing the same thing. But I thought for the same amount of work, why not get twice the bread? So I split half the dough into the two loaf pans and put them on my preheating oven to rise. I put the rest of the dough, covered with plastic wrap, in the fridge since it would rise much slower there. Once the first two loaves were done baking, I put the rest of the dough into the 2 pans, and let them rise and bake. Took a little longer of course, but most of that time was just waiting for it to rise and bake. No extra work! Hope this helps!

Let me know what you think!

